नीलाम्बर-पीताम्बर विश्वविद्यालय, मेदिनीनगर, पलामू, झारखण्ड
Nilamber-Pitamber University, Medininagar, Palamu, Jharkhand

The University

The University (AISHE Code: U- 0208)

Nilamber-Pitambar University (NPU) was established in the year-2009 (17th January 2009) with its headquarter at Daltonganj, now Medininagar, which is also the divisional headquarter of Palamu, Jharkhand. It is situated at a distance of about 175 km from Ranchi, the state capital of Jharkhand. The University imparts education at the Post-graduate level in the faculties of Science, Social Science, Humanities, Commerce, Education, Medicine and Dental education. University departments are engaged in teaching and research and personality developments of the students. Undergraduate teaching in the above faculties and also in the faculty of Engineering and Law is being carried out in the constituent and the affiliated colleges under the University. Teaching for M. B. B. S., B. Sc. in Nursing and B. Pharm. will become a reality in the near future as the University has already given consent of affiliation to the former two courses and the process to give no objection to start B. Pharm. is under serious consideration.

The University being a state University is committed to implement the policies and programmes of the State Govt. of Jharkhand towards fulfilling the aspirations of higher education of the people of Jharkhand. In view of this the University recently started soft skill based add-on courses in collaboration with Tata Institute of Social Science(TISS) in its constituent colleges for the UG and PG students so that their inherent skill can be enhanced making them fit for employment. Placement cells / Counselling centres in Colleges and in the University have been activated to keep the students informed about job opportunities and help them to prepare for employment.

Libraries and Laboratories are being upgraded to keep pace with the recent curriculum requirements. The University is in the process of extensive use of digital technology towards better and efficient dissemination of knowledge and efforts are being made for the gradual transition of office works to digital platform. Digital language labs, ICT labs and Smart classrooms have been made functional in the recent past. Wi-Fi facilities would become operational fully and all campuses would become Wi-Fi enabled shortly.

Vocational courses do form part of the curriculum which are mostly in the self financed mode. These are MCA, MBA, Master in Journalism and Mass Communication at the PG level and B. C. A. , B. B. A., Bio-Technology at the UG level.

Five more colleges are under construction which are located at; two in Latehar, one in Manika, one in Daltonganj and one in Garhwa. Teaching is likely to start in these colleges from the Academic Year 2018-2019 making the number of constituent colleges under the University to Nine.

University at a Glance

Nilamber-Pitamber University established only a decade ago is proving to be a centre for learning par excellence. Established in year 2009 in the socio-economically backward region of Jharkhand state is one of the state universities. Named after the legendry freedom fighters Nilamber and Pitamber, the university has swung forth to infuse into the youngsters love and enthusiasm for higher studies and also help develop taste and flavour in them for pursuing research and innovation. Its long term commitment to nation building, enlightment of all and unflinching adherence to truth and human values are reflected in its motto “Tamso Maa Jyotirgamaya”.

Embarking upon the consistently augmenting infrastructure and human resource, the Nilamber-Pitamber University has been successful in securing certain laudable achievements in recent past, noteworthy among them are the constitution of Board of studies and initiation for construction of a sprawling campus and large edifice comprising administrative and academic blocks which are shortly to be completed. Another feather in the cap is introduction of CBCS pattern in both post graduate and undergraduates programs/courses and also almost automation of the examination department and the admission process.

Located at extreme western side of Jharkhand state having headquarters at Medininagar in Palamu district encompassed garhwa and latehar districts also marked by large ST and SC population, particularly Latehar district is largely populated by tribals. The Palamu division shares its boundaries with states of Utter Pradesh, Chattisgarh and Bihar drawing students and faculties from across India, The University has gradually emerged as symbol of excellence, integrity and openness.

Despite being a young university it is committed to achieve the stipulated goals within a reasonable time frame.